Bozzini Quartet/Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival Composer’s Kitchen Press Release


Seán Clancy and Amber Priestley
to attend seven-day workshop in Montréal: April 21 – 27, 2013

High-octane Montréal-based Bozzini Quartet has invited two young UK-based composers – Seán Clancy and Amber Priestley – to take part in the ninth edition of its annual Composer’s Kitchen workshop from April 21 – 27, 2013 in Montréal.

The composers were chosen for the originality, creativity, artistic vision, and craft shown in the compositions they submitted.

The format of Composer’s Kitchen has been expanded this year – thanks to an ongoing collaboration with Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (hcmf//), the UK’s largest international festival of new and experimental music.
Described as a combination of workshop, laboratory, playground and masterclass, Composer’s Kitchen offers four up-and-coming composers – two from Canada and two from the UK – the opportunity to have their compositions read, played, assessed, analysed, worked on, played again and performed in the week’s closing concert.
The Bozzini Quartet and two mentor-composers (Michael Oesterle, Montréal/Canada, and Laurence Crane, London/UK) will work with the participants in an informal yet intensive atmosphere.

Later in the year the four composers will reconvene in Huddersfield during the 2013 hcmf// (November 15 – 24) for a three-day follow-up masterclass culminating in a public concert of works by each of the composers, performed by the Bozzini Quartet.

The Canadian composers selected for the 2013 Composer’s Kitchen are Simon Martin (QC) and Marielle Groven (CAN).

Seán Clancy

Birmingham-based, Dublin born composer Seán Clancy’s (b. 1984) music has been described as ‘exploring the tensions between found and original material, narrative and rupture, elite and vernacular values, and between innovation and intervention’ (Journal of Music).
His music has been commissioned and performed internationally by world renowned artists including; The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Susan Narucki, Garth Knox, Orkest de ereprijs, Crash Ensemble, Fidelio Trio, Schubert Ensemble, Darragh Morgan & Mary Dullea, Lontano, Decibel, Dublin Guitar Quartet, Duo Vita, Ensemble ICC, Ergodos Voices, The Curious Chamber Players, Thumb, Steve Potter and the Composers Ensemble and has been broadcast on amongst others; RTÉ lyric fm (Ireland), BBC Radio 3 (UK), and Klassika Raadio (Estonia).

Amber Priestley
Born in the shadow of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, Amber Priestley has lived in the U.K. since 1991. She obtained her BA at the University of Sussex and her doctorate in composition at the University of York. Some recent performances include: Then You Are In Clover (Queens’ College, Cambridge commission); Such Nights I Get All The Free Margins (Damien Harron/spnm commission); and If you really loved me, you’d stop playing that piano and listen to me (Claudia Molitor commission).
The majority of her work deals directly with musicians performing both music and theatre.  Another of her major preoccupations lies in open-form scores: Amber is interested in trying to allow again for a possibility where time is not fixed, and each time a piece is experienced the music has the chance to be different. She is also interested in allowing the performers’ individuality to emerge through her scores.

p.11 Quatuor Bozzini © Frank-Olaf Becker.JPG

Quatour Bozzini.jpg

Published by seanlclancy

Irish Composer living between Dublin, Ireland & Birmingham, UK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s